Obamacare & Rose-Colored Lens Lemmings

“They can’t do that!” he exploded. “This is America!”

My young friend, age 21, just got a rude awakening. It’s called “Obamacare.”

“How can government force me to buy something I don’t want and I don’t need, under penalty of law?” he fumed, reeling from sticker shock.

“Did you vote in the last election?” I asked. He nodded. “For whom?” He rattled off a laundry list of DemoLib candidates. ‘Congratulations” I said. “You just got the government you voted for.”

A lively conversation ensued.

Glowing comments on Obamacare from the rose-colored lens of the usual suspects run something like this, a la my friend “Betsy” (not her real name):

How can I hate Obamacare? I haven’t been able to afford healthcare in 4 years. I just did the worksheet and my monthly premiums for healthcare for the family would be around 75$.

Here’s the short answer for “Betsy”: The Truth about the Health Care Bill. Here’s another answer for my young friend and the rose-colored lens lemming crowd:

In January 2011, Florida federal District Judge C. Roger Vinson ruled the individual mandate unconstitutional.  He said:

“Never before has Congress required that everyone buy a product from a private company (essentially for life) just for being alive and residing in the United States. If [the government] has the power to compel an otherwise passive individual into a transaction… it is not hyperbolic to suggest that Congress could do almost anything it wanted.”

My young friend just woke up.  “Almost anything it wanted” isn’t looking quite so rosy all of a sudden.

Memo: Obamacare passed without a single Republican vote. Remember next November.

For further reading:

Allen West: Why Obamacare is Bad for America’s Health

Pascal-Emmanuel Gobry: Why the Republicans Are Right to Shut Down the Government Over Obamacare

