10 Reasons to Love Grays Harbor

  • “The Mountain is out.”
  • World class hiking.
  • Humdinger’s.
  • The library.
  • It’s green year-round.
  • Lake Quinault.
  • The library.
  • Clean air. If you’ve ever lived some place where the motto is, “Never trust air you can’t see,” you know what I mean.
  • It’s not Seattle.
  • Did I mention the library?

Long ago in a galaxy far, far away…

My old stompin’ grounds is home to the largest children’s library west of the Mississippi. Perched on 350+ acres of choice park land within a stone’s throw of the Big Blue, we’re talkin’ Serious Gigantour here. You need a road map to find your way around this library. You could fit Elma inside its parking lot. (Well, okay. Maybe half of Elma.)

200px-Hbpl

From stem to stern

Besides about a gazillion books in the best-stocked library stacks I’ve ever seen, that outfit had four floors. A café. Gift shop. Atrium. Indoor aquarium. Cascading fountains merging into small pools. A 319-seat theater. That puppy “includes 32′ wide x 12′ high soft arch with 24′ stage depth, load-in ramp with 12′ x 12′ roll up door, screen, projection booth, green room, dressing rooms, and restrooms.” The children’s section had a full-sized sail boat jammed with books from stem to stern. (It’s what I want to be when I grow up.)

Aquarium

Atrium

Libraris Gigantouraus

Know what? I prefer the Hoquiam Timberland Library. Why? Because no one at Libraris Gigantouraus knew me by name. I mentioned it like a gazillion times. But that library has like a gazillion patrons. I was a number in a computer. A plastic card and a bar code.

Where everybody knows your name…

Not so at the local library, where I know every librarian and they know me. Ditto the rest of the crew. They also know what authors and books I like and what I’m most likely to spit out. They steer me to literary winners whenever asked for a recommendation. When I can’t find something, I ask and get help. If said Something isn’t in the library’s immediate collection, I ask, get help, and “order out.” It’s amazing how fast that stuff comes in.

If someone wrote a commercial jingle for that outfit, it’d probably go like:

And they’re always glad you came.

When the fam and I walk through the doors of the Hoquiam Library, we’re people. Not numbers. Not plastic cards. A trip to that library is like coming home.

I don’t even need a road map.

Photo credit:main library:  “Hbpl” by Hbpl – Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons Zero, Public Domain Dedication via Wikimedia Commons.

