I-594: Sense or Senseless?

bath-soap-unwrapped

I wasn’t going to write another post on I-594. Was not, was not, was not! But a recent pro-commercial for this initiative just about made me toss my last Hershey’s with almonds right through the TV. Naw. Not really. I would never waste my last 496 ounces of chocolate on this thing. (I was going to use another word. But this is a G-rated blog, so you’ll have to fill in the blanks yourself.)

Unless you’ve been driving a dog sled to Nome lately, you probably know that gun grabbers are peddling I-594 as a “close the background check loophole” initiative and using soft soap stories to sell it. You know. The “pass this and we’ll all be safer” line.

Okay, class. Raise your hand if you don’t want to be “safe.”

Yeah. That’s what I thought.

So do your average gun-grabbers. You gotta give ’em credit. They know how to spin a story. Play heartstrings like David Garrett does Brahms. They’re pros at  milking emotional appeals into sympathy votes. If Banal Propagandizing was an Olympic sport, libs would bring home the gold every time. I ran into another one the other day. He blustered, “You gun owners don’t want anything to infringe on your Second Amendment rights!” I tried keeping a straight face. No. Really. I did. I was doing pretty well – for about a nano-second. (Nobody’s perfect.)

An example appears below, where Rory Graves of Snohomish County tells the story of her mother, who was shot by her husband in 2012. The tagline says: “But because of the background check loophole, a convicted domestic abuser can buy a gun online or at a gun show without a background check – and with no questions asked.”

A tragedy, yes. But it’s also vintage lib propaganda, designed to do everything short of handing out free tissues. Anyone besides me take a wee bit of offense at the suggestion that opposition to I-584 somehow favors or otherwise enables domestic violence?

Another ad, “Prevent”, features former Bellingham Chief of Police Don Pierce. He supposedly details “the effectiveness of background checks in keeping guns out of the hands of criminals and other dangerous people. It also explains how the loophole in Washington’s law makes it easy for guns to fall into the wrong hands and how 594 closes this loophole.”

Not so fast. While well-funded anti-gunners are camouflaging I-594 as a “universal background check” measure, “universal” doesn’t apply to criminals, who aren’t typically big on obeying the law in the first place. Duh. I-594 advocates hope to capitalize on public fear and ignorance (which seems to be working) to achieve their end game: universal handgun registration. And we all know where that’s headed.

Meanwhile, let’s get this straight: I-594 will make illegal activity more illegal in order to deter illegal activity. And that’s going to reduce violent crime.

Get many visitors that far from planet earth?

 Here are a few more reasons to oppose I-594:

 

  • I-594 will specifically regulate transfers, not sales.  Under the language of I-594, in virtually all cases, a person merely handing his or her firearm to a family member or a friend cannot do so without brokering the transfer through a gun dealer with the accompanying fees, paperwork, taxes and, in the case of handguns, state registration.
  • Virtually every firearm transfer – with very few and limited exceptions – would be required to go through a licensed firearms dealer under the provisions of I-594.
  • I-594 also doubles the state waiting period on handgun sales from five to ten days and extends it to every private transfer of a handgun!
  • The only thing that I-594 would accomplish is the creation of a government record of all lawfully transferred handguns in Washington, which would facilitate their future confiscation.

 

 

Protect your home. Protect your family. Protect your rights.

Vote NO on I-594.

Also see: Why I-594 Is a Great Idea.

 

Follow Conservelocity on Facebook.

Photo credit: public domain

