Welcome to Grays Harbor: ‘No Running, No Diving’

I just finished re-conditioning my waterproof boots. On Saturday. Just in time for the Mother Of All Floods that hit Grays Harbor Sunday and early Monday.

The Noah Weather Wannabe left much of Aberdeen and huge chunks of Hoquiam digging out and trying to dry out. These photos were taken yesterday afternoon (January 6) in north Hoquiam:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Believe it or not, it looked a lot better Tuesday than it did Monday, when the Big Guy and I walked it. You could’ve called the region “Lake Hoquiam.”  People were kayaking down Lincoln Street. (I’m not kidding. The kayak was blue.) Front yards were knee-deep in water.

I talked to one guy who was cleaning up on Tuesday. When asked if he got any water inside his house, he said, “Yeah.” I asked how much. He said, “About three and-a-half feet.”

That’s a lot. In case you’re wondering.

We’re domicile giraffes. High and dry. Our living quarters are thirteen steps above ground level. The ground level basement is still dry. The drains worked fine.

The good news:

  • The sun’s out.
  • Major streets have re-opened or will soon.
  • No ice or snow.
  • Forecast is for dry weather for the next coupla days.
  • You can build a primo mud castle just about anywhere.
  • Your grandkids will think you live in Venice! (You kinda are in Venice-West, for the time being.)
  • The Kid said yesterday, “I’m sick of being on break. I can’t wait to go back to school.” (This sounded even better after I picked myself up off the floor and requested an encore.)

Kindly keep in mind that clean-up and recovery efforts will take time. Be patient. Be kind. Be courteous. Allow extra time if you’re traveling anywhere or paddling around town. Whatever you do, remember: ‘No running and no diving.’ Stay smart. Stay safe.

If it’s still soggy in your neck of the woods, here’s a little pick-me-up. Steve (cello) and Jon (piano) are a hoot and a half! If you haven’t heard of The Piano Guys yet, you need to get out more.

I dare you to listen to this sitting still (check out the conga line):

For news and updates:

City of Hoquiam

KBKW Radio

KXRO Radio

Grays Harbor County Emergency Management

GH Scanner – Online Scanner & News

 

