Why I Made an Exception for This Movie – And You Should, Too

Zamperini examines a hole in his B-24D Liberator Super Man made by a 20mm shell over Nauru. (Public domain via Wikipedia.)
Zamperini examines a hole in his B-24D Liberator Super Man made by a 20mm shell over Nauru. (Public domain via Wikipedia.)

I can count on one hand the number of movies I’ve seen in a theatre in the last decade-ish.* No real reason. I’m just not a big fan of movie theatres. I’d rather do the DVD, hang-with-the-fam-at-home thing. I made an exception last week. After seeing a news special on Louis Zamperini recently, the Big Guy and I decided to see Unbroken. In a movie theatre.

Unbroken – isn’t that a great title? – is a true story based on the life of Olympic athlete and WWII hero Louis Zamperini. Rated PG-13 and directed by Angelina Jolie. Here’s the one-word review:

Wow.

Here’s the multi-word review:

The Torrance Tornado can fly. Big bro Pete. 1936 Olympics. B-24 bombardier. 47 days on a life raft. Sharks. Japanese POW camps. Kwajalein and Tokyo. The Bird. Coal. If you can take it, you can make it.

Unbroken isn’t an easy film to watch. (I needed a Triple Chocolate Meltdown to recover.) But it’s a powerful, compelling story of survival, resilience and redemption. Even for us wusses. Bonus points: Didn’t need to wash out my ears afterwards. Yea.

Here’s the trailer:

Only courage can bring you home.

For theatre listings, click here. You know what to do.

Tip: Check out the rest of the Louis Zamperini story.

 

*In case you’re wondering, they are, in no particular order: Marley & Me, Atlas Shrugged, America 2016, America: The Movie, Mockingjay.

