Friday Fun: An Andrea Aria!

campagna-toscana

Yessss!  It’s another edition of everybody’s favorite column, Friday Fun. And have we got a treat for you!

Remember that ‘world-class Italian tenor’ thing? Well. All together now: Andrea Bocelli. Even better: Andrea Bocelli singing the famous Nessun* Dorma (No One Shall Sleep) aria from the “Turandot” by Giacomo Puccini.

A classic.

If arias or Puccini aren’t your thing, chillax. Just raise your right hand and repeat after me:

I will not freak out

I will not freak out

I will not freak out.

There? That didn’t hurt, did it? Besides, you may change your mind if you give this a listen. Besides again, you’ll be kicking yourself all weekend if you miss this. So you know what to do:

 

English lyrics:

No-one shall sleep!
No-one shall sleep!
You too, oh Princess,
In your cold room, watch the stars
Trembling with love and hope!

But my secret lies hidden within me,
No-one shall discover my name!
Oh no, I will only reveal it on your lips
When daylight shines forth!

And my kiss shall break
The silence that makes you mine!

[Choir:]
No-one shall discover her name!
And we will, alas, have to die, to die!

Depart, oh night!
Set, you stars!
Set, you stars!
At dawn I shall win!
I shall win! I shall win!

Photo credit: Toscana, Italy. Public domain.

* Yes, It’s “NessuN.” Not “Nessum.” The video title is incorrect.

