Idiot Lib (Is There Any Other Kind?) Calls for Banning One of Greatest Movies Ever Made

If you’ve been paying the slightest attention to the political landscape lately – say, for the last 20 minutes or so – you know that the liberals’ one-size-approach to every ill or “issue” is a one-size-approach to every ill or “issue” (that’s not a typo): Ban It.

Tragedy involving a handgun? Ban It. Big Gulps? Ban It. Fat?  Potatoe (still not a typo)? Tragic church shooting in Charleston, SC associated with the Confederate flag? Ban It. Ban It. Ban It.

Now one of the greatest movies ever made is in the Lib Ban cross-hairs.  That’s right. According to Breitbart, Gone With the Wind will be yanked out of theaters and relegated to museum basements if a New York pinhead disguised as a “film critic” gets his way.

Let’s get something straight. I love this movie. I’ve read the book multiple times. The movie is an exceptional work of art. Especially for 1939. They don’t make movies like GWTW anymore. They just don’t. It’s the creme de la creme of creme. And it’s not about the Stars and Bars. That’s historic context, people, context!

But New York film critic Lou Lumenick doesn’t get it. Writing in Wednesday’s New York Post, Sir Pinhead opined:

If the Confederate flag is finally going to be consigned to museums as an ugly symbol of racism, what about the beloved film offering the most iconic glimpse of that flag in American culture?

I’m talking, of course, about “Gone with the Wind[.]’’ …

But what does it say about us as a nation if we continue to embrace a movie that, in the final analysis, stands for many of the same things as the Confederate flag that flutters so dramatically over the dead and wounded soldiers at the Atlanta train station just before the “GWTW’’ intermission?

Warner Bros. just stopped licensing another of pop culture’s most visible uses of the Confederate flag — toy replicas of the General Lee, an orange Dodge Charger from “The Dukes of Hazzard’’ — as retailers like Amazon and Walmart have finally backed away from selling merchandise with that racist symbol.

That studio sent “Gone with the Wind’’ back into theaters for its 75th anniversary in partnership with its sister company Turner Classic Movies in 2014, but I have a feeling the movie’s days as a cash cow are numbered. It’s showing on July 4 at the Museum of Modern Art as part of the museum’s salute to the 100th anniversary of Technicolor — and maybe that’s where this much-loved but undeniably racist artifact really belongs.

(I had a really scathing paragraph here. It melted the keyboard. I took it out now that my blood pressure has returned to quadruple digits. You’re welcome. Sooo…)

Earth to Lumenick. Come in, Lumenick?  That iconic pre-intermission scene at the Atlanta train station? For anyone with half a brain, the clear intent of that scene is to visually portray the immense human tragedy that was the Civil War. I figured that out when I was 10. (If you look sharp in the vid below, you’ll notice – among other things – that the flag in the aforementioned scene is tattered. Hello?)

Says Breitbart, “Lumenick isn’t beating around the bush. He’s serious about calling on Warner Bros. to smother the movie outside of museum screening — a self-imposed ban, but a ban nonetheless. … Nevertheless, he is talking about removing from the marketplace one of the most treasured pieces of cinematic art the world has ever seen.”

Pardon me if that doesn’t sound like lib lunacy. But I repeat myself.

Meanwhile, what’s with Here a Ban, There a Ban, Everywhere a Ban-Ban?

Here’s an idea: Why not let the market decide? If libs choose not to see Scarlett and Rhett, Ashley and Melanie, Mammy, Prissy, Twelve Oaks and Tara, the burning of Atlanta, Sherman’s March to the Sea, carpet baggers and Reconstruction and “I’ll never go hungry again!,” fine. That’s their choice. But if libs are truly the “Party of Choice,” why not let me decide what I do or don’t want to watch? Why is their choice more sacrosanct than mine?

I don’t know about you, but they can grab my copy of GWTW when they pry it from my cold, dead fingers. Ditto my DVD.

Not to re-state the obvious here or anything, but I love this movie. If that gives you heartburn, then “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a d**n.” Especially if you’re a lib.

 

* Some sources say ten.

Photo credit: FanPop

