Star Wars #7: The Fun Re-Awakens

Caught the new Star Wars flick yesterday: Star Wars – The Force Awakens. Noon showing. Didn’t have to stand in line. Theatre about two-thirds full. I’m gonna chime in with my two pennies in a minute. But first, there’s something you probably oughtta know.

To the horror of wookies everywhere, I’m not a huge Star Wars fan. Never have been. I’m more of a Tara/Twelve Oaks/Pride and Prejudice/Thornfield Hall kinda girl. And yes, I do love Kenneth Branagh. ‘Sides. I kinda lost interest in the Force, et.al., after Han Solo, Luke Skywalker and Leia Organa faded into the woodwork.

Good to see them again.

So anyway. Here’s my review of Star Wars: The Force Awakens. It’s in two parts: the micro-short version and the short version.

Micro short:

This movie is quick. Clever. Light. No brain strains here. Just fun. Magnificent John Williams score.

Short version:

Frankly, I wasn’t gonna bother with The Force Awakens. But my son is a huge Star Wars fan. He drag… um… talked me into seeing the matinee. The Hershey’s bribe didn’t hurt. Nathan loved this movie. I mean, he raved about it. Like, “Great! Amazing! Fantastic!” I thought it was fun. Quick. Clever and light. With a magnificent John Williams score.  Basically, it was okay. (I’ll spare you a revamp of the entire plot. You can find that here.)

On the characters

Carrier Fisher and Harrison Ford still click as General Leia and Han Solo. The new characters – Poe Dameron (Oscar Isaac), Resistance fighter pilot extraordinaire; Rey (Daisy Ridley), scavenger extraordinairess; and Finn (John Boyega), storm trooper flunky turned reluctant hero – are likeable, loyal, and… fun.

Bad guy Kylo Ren (Adam Driver) is… bad. Doesn’t that guy own a single piece of clothing that’s not dark? Andy Serkis turns in a brief but solid performance as the malevolent Supreme Leader Snoke. And if you thought the Death Star was bad…

Note to Daisy Ridley’s (Rey) costume designer: Gray? Really? She looks like walking linoleum. Even so, Rey’s a handy lass in a light saber fight.

I enjoyed several verbal and visual bridges linking the current production with the 1977 original. Also the Millennium Falcon: still spry after all these years.  And those Resistance fighters can move. Also good to see C3PO and the ever-irascible R2-D2 again.

Favorite lines:

  • Han Solo: The Force doesn’t work like that.
  • Han Solo: Don’t lie to a woman. She always figures out the truth.” (Or something along those lines.)
  • Han Solo: I’ll talk my way out of it, like I always do…
  • Han Solo: Chewie, we’re home.
  • Finn: Just keep calm… Just keep calm… Rey: I am. Finn: I was talking to myself.
  • Han Solo: I’ve got a bad feeling about this.
  • Rey: You will remove these restraints and leave this cell with the door open. Stormtrooper: I will remove these restraints and leave this cell with the door open. [he does so] Rey: You will drop your weapon. Stormtrooper: I will drop my weapon.
  • Rey: I’ve already fixed it. Finn: Well can you un-fix it?
  • Han Solo: Escape now. Hug later.

Spoiler alert #1: It doesn’t end well for Han Solo.

Spoiler alert #2: Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker appears briefly before fade to black. No lines.

Star War: The Force Awakens isn’t Shakespeare. But it’s not meant to be. Viewers will make of it what they will. I wouldn’t wait in line for it. But my son would. (I’m happy most any time I can exit a theatre not feeling like I have to wash out my ears and eyes with soap.)

Those who were around for the premiere of the original – back when dinosaurs roamed the earth – may enjoy the new version most. If not, “Tomorrow is another day!”

 

 

Photo credit: TerraS12; Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license.

