FRIDAY TREAT: The Falls

It’s Friday. The weekend’s coming up fast in the rear view mirror. And have I got a treat for you. This will involve putting on your thinkin’ cap for a min or two (I know this will be a challenge for the libs among us. That’s okay. I’ll wait.)

Anyway, someone near and dear to my heart racked up some serious brownie points the other day by getting me the Wonders album by The Piano Guys. We’re talkin’ serious awesome here. That’s cuz it’s a compilation of performances performed at the Seven Wonders of the World.

I’m not makin’ this up.

My favorite is track #10. Based on the 1986 masterpiece, The Mission.

Frankly, I’d kinda sorta forgotten about this flick. Until I heard The Piano Guys perform their version of Gabriel’s Oboe on the Wonders album. Performed in part near the thundering Iguazu Falls of Argentina.

After the album, I naturally had to dig up the movie. That took some doin.’ It’s like 30 years old. But we found it. Should’ve won Best Picture. Head and shoulders above anything else in the running that year. Includes two of the finest performances ever by Robert de Niro (mercenary/slave trader-turned Jesuit priest Rodrigo Mendoza) and Jeremy Irons (Father Gabriel. Oboe guy.). Set in South America in the 1750s. Based on actual events.

If you haven’t seen the movie, here’s a tip: Do. I might even bring the popcorn.

Meanwhile, kick off your weekend right with The Piano Guys’ rendition of one of the most beautiful melodies ever written, Gabriel’s Oboe. The visuals alone are worth the price of admission. (Did you catch the rainbow?)

Note: The Mission isn’t a Gerber’s movie. The director doesn’t spoon-feed the audience. Functional gray matter is required (and we all know who that leaves out). You’re expected to connect the dots yourself. Just sayin’.

Happy weekend!

