Fall-Out Over Monte Firings Continues; Mayor Not Get The Memo?

YouTube

I’m gonna go out on a limb here and bet that the Official Montesano Spin Machine hasn’t sent any bouquets to the good citizens who dared to speak up against the recent firing of two deputy clerks. You know, the peeps who didn’t think retaining their jobs at city hall required genuflecting at the altar of Queen Vini & Co.

Don’t worry. I gotcha covered. Eddie Jarvis also spoke up at Tuesday’s City Council meeting. His fiancé is one of the clerks who incurred the ire of the Royal Vinster. Says Eddie, according to his written notes:

“I’m here to express my disbelief that the two Deputy Clerks are being laid off.

My name is Eddie Jarvis and I’d like to say a few words about Ashlee and Chelsea, the two deputy clerks that are being laid off. Admittedly I have a vested interest. Ashlee is my fiancé and we share a mortgage and a beautiful little girl, Stella, who just turned 2.”

Eddie notes that he has a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science with an emphasis in Organized Labor and other credentials. He is also an International Long Shoreman union member in good standing. He continues:

“I feel like I am qualified to make a judgment about what I see to be unfair labor practices. I’d like to thank you all for giving me the chance to speak today. I know we all have family to get home to so I’ll keep this short and sweet.

 First of all, unless the budget has been changed, Ashlee is paid 10% out of the General Fund. Ashlee makes around $50,000 a year. That means she is paid $5,000 out of the general fund that’s around $2,500,000.”

But wait. It gets better.

Eddie says that Ashlee has been harassed by Longtime Paragon of Virtue Councilman Tyler Trimble. She attempted to file a grievance through her union, says Jones, but “was denied help by the very organization that is there to protect her.”  Eddie also writes that the union‘s reluctance to help her is “an ongoing occurrence”:

“A couple months ago she tried to file a grievance over payroll issues, she was again denied representation by the union.”

He calls this a “significant breakdown of the labor relations process.”

Jones says he’s bringing this up due to the “contentious nature of Montesano politics,” which he believes led to “the dismissal of my fiancé and her co-worker in an unfair termination.” He also questions the legality of the action(s).

Forsooth and for shame! How can this be? The Vinster and Co. + her media goon squad campaigned on getting rid of the Big Meanie Triumverate of Mayor Estes, City Administrator Kristy Powell, and former City Attorney Dan Glenn, after which the last trump would sound and the Kum-Ba-Yah Chorus begin.

Someone not get the memo?

 

***

There’s more on The Great City Hall Makeover. You know, The Vinster’s remodeling project that didn’t cost taxpayers a nickel. Stay tuned.

