What They’re Saying in Olympia…

fall-in-oly-cap-building

Don’t you just love it when the Washington State Legislature is in session? I love it so much, I want to grab the nearest package of Dramamine.

Anyway, here are a few responses recently received from two of my illustrious legislators, Rep. Mike Chapman (D-24) and Senator Kevin Van De Wege (D-24). They weigh in on three separate bills: HB 1387, HB 1122, and SB 5692.

The first message below is from from Rep. Chapman. He is responding to my comments on HB 1387 and HB 1122. (HB 1387 didn’t make it out of the Judiciary Committee. HB 1122 narrowly survived). The other is from Sen. Van De Wege on SB 5692. (Note that Rep. Steve Tharinger (D-24) co-sponsored HB 1387 and HB 1122. I haven’t heard back from him. Come to think of it, I don’t think I ever hear back from Tharinger. On anything. Hmm.)

I initially received the following from Rep. Chapman in two HB 1387 and HB 1122:

Kristine, thanks for your input. I will carefully consider your thoughts as I study this bi-partisan bill further.  

When pressed, he responded:

From: “Chapman, Rep. Mike” <Mike.Chapman@leg.wa.gov>

Date: Tue, 14 Feb 2017 15:46:01 +0000

Subject: Re: Comment RR: HB 1122 Storage of firearms (AGAINST)

Response from Rep. Mike Chapman (D-24):

Kristine, thanks for your input. While I did not sign on to the bill banning the purchase of assault rifles I do believe expanded background checks and waiting periods are appropriate before one is allowed to purchase these types of weapons. I also support the safe storage of firearms. As someone who owns firearms and has a concealed weapons permit I have never been upset at background checks, waiting periods or safe storage requirements. I believe responsible gun ownership protects the 2nd Amendment rights of all citizens.

***

Here’s a response from Sen. Kevin Van De Wege (D-24) on SB 5692, prohibiting forced union membership as a condition of employment:

From: “Van De Wege, Sen. Kevin” <Kevin.VanDeWege@leg.wa.gov>

Date: Tue, 21 Feb 2017 23:24:13 +0000

Dear Kristine,

Thank you for contacting me regarding SB 5692.

I am in opposition to this bill and am a strong supporter of unions.

Please email me anytime with your concerns or comments.

Sincerely,

Kevin

 

No real surprises there. But of course I had to ask:

To: Kevin.VanDeWege@leg.wa.gov

Date: Tue, 21 Feb 2017 15:49:21 -0800

Subject: Re: Comment RR: SB 5692 Mandatory union dues (FOR)

Dear Senator Van De Wege:

While I am sorry to hear of your opposition to this bill, I appreciate your prompt response.

Could you please explain your specific reasons for opposing SB 5692?

I’m also waiting on responses from Senators Murray and Cantwell regarding the confirmation of Neil Gorsuch to the U.S. Supreme Court. You know, like when Democrats voted to confirm him to the 10th Circuit on a unanimous voice vote in 2006.

Will keep ya posted. Meanwhile, join us on Facebook at:

Conservelocity

– or –

Grays Harbor for Common Sense

(Ask to be added)

